Gaming Diary·Video Games

Review: Professor Layton and the Curious Village

1004004006303643

I finished my first Professor Layton game only hours ago and I loved every minute of it. I know it’s an old game, but I really wanted to share my thoughts on this particular puzzel game, because it was so much fun to play. Fortunately a friend of mine is kind enough to let me borrow the second Professor Layton game, Professor Layton and Pandora’s box. So this is probably not the last time that I will be writing about professor Layton. However, for now let’s focus on Professor Layton and the Curious Village.

20150917_115143

The story line starts when Professor Layton is invited to visit the strange town St. Mystere. A baron, called Baron Reinhold, has just passed away and now the remaining family is looking for the treasure he left behind. This treasure is called the Golden Apple. So far no-one has been able to find the treasure. This is where your adventure starts. You have to help Professor Layton and his apprentice Luke to uncover all the secrets of St. Mystere. Around every corner there is a new puzzle to solve and as Professor Layton says “every puzzle has an answer”.

layton_intro_004

However, that doesn’t mean these puzzles are easy. They are actually really difficult. On several occasions I needed someone to help me out, but it was worth it. The game not only looks beautiful with its unique artwork and character design, but also gives you new mysteries to solve as the story progresses. At the end all the mysteries are explained in a Scooby-Doo like manner and everything suddenly makes sense. No stone is left unturned.                       
105Inn

I love a good mystery. Especially one that can be uncovered as long as you pay attention to the different clues. So this game was prefect for me. The game felt very short, because I was curious to see how everything fit together. All in all I loved this game and I cannot wait until I can continue with this series.

mystere

Have you played Professor Layton and the Curious Village? Let me know what you think about this game.

Geef een reactie

