Disney·Movies/Series

Review: Zootropolis

I’m a big fan of Disney. So when Zootropolis (or Zootopia, depending on where you live) was announced, I knew that I wanted to see it in the movie theater. I ended up dragging my boyfriend along, because I didn’t want to go alone. After seeing this movie I thought it would be fun to try something new and write a small movie review, which is what this post is going to be. So if you haven’t seen the movie yet than please watch it first before reading this post. I don’t want to spoil anything for you. That being said I’m not an expert when it comes to movies. So don’t have extremely high expectations of my reviewing skills. I just wanted to quickly share my opninions on Disney’s latest creation.

Zootropolis 3

Before I start I quickly want to explain to you my reviewing system. I decided to split my review into three categories as you can see below. Namely appearance, characters and story. I feel that this will help me adress all the important elements of this wonderful animation. I will give each element a rating, with five stars being the highest rating and zero starts being the lowest raiting. Lastly I will give an overall rating for the movie itself. I decided to keep it simple :). Let’s get started.

Appearance  stars rating 4
Overall this movie looks amazing. I really like the idea of Zootropolis. It is a big city where all the animals live together in harmony. This is reflected in all the different areas in the city for the different animals. For example there is the Rainforest District, Little Rodentia and Tundra Town. When Judy finally arrives in Zootropolis you quickly get to see all these different areas. This is one of my favourite scenes in the movie, because you see every corner of Zootropolis. I wish they would have explored Zootropolis more throughout the movie. I’m so curious to see what else it has to offer. I also quickly want to mention Judy’s hometown Bunnyburrow, which looked adorable as well. I decided to give the appearance of this movie 4 stars, because I wish I could have seen more of Zootropolis.

Zootropolis 4

Zootropolis 5

Characters stars rating 4

As usual the characters that Disney created are amazing. Judy was really believable as a cute, little bunny with a big dream. It was really interesting to see her character develop from this slightly prejudiced country bunny to a big city cop. One of the most amazing parts of this movie is the friendship that she builds with Nick Wilde (my favourite character). I like the fact that Disney adressed prejuidice in this move and it is really lovely to see Nick and Judy’s friendship move past this hurdle. One of the scenes that really got to me was the scene in which Judy mentions that she was wrong regarding her prejudice towards foxes and that she maybe was a “dumb bunny” after all. It shows that the characters have flaws, but that they can move past it. I also quickly want to mention some of the extra characters that were just amazing. Officer Clawhauser was one of the funniest and cutest characters in this movie. I cannot imagine anyone not loving him from the start. Than ofcourse there is Flash, a sloth who helps Judy and Nick out in their hunt. The scenes with him where hilarious as he reacted to everything in slow-motion. A final character that I wish to mention is mr. Big, the maffia boss of Zootropolis. He and his daughter were just adorable and although his character was not really something original, it was very entertaining to watch. This is also the main reason that I decided to give the characters 4 out of 5 stars. Although the characters were cute and interesting. Most of them could be considered stock characters or stereotypes.

Zootropolis 1

Story stars rating 4
Lastly ofcourse I have to adress the story. The most important element of a movie. I have to admit that it was a bit predictable. At the beginning of the movie it is mentioned that evolution was the key to Zootropolis. So naturally when predators start to act feral again the obvious conclusion would be that something is making them return to their pre-evolution state. Although this is clear from almost the beginning of the movie, it takes Judy a  long time to get to this conclusion. At the beginning of the movie it was also very clear that prejudice between predators and prey would play a key role. When Judy performs her play about how everyone is equal, I was immediately made aware that this was not the case and I really like the fact that Disney adressed this issue and showed both children and adults that you should move past your prejudices. There was however one surprise in the movie. Namely the villain. Somehow I hadn’t seen that coming, which is great. I won’t tell you who it is though. All in all I will give the story 4 out of 5 stars.

Zootropolis 2

I really like this movie. I like the ideas the characters represented and I love the surroundings of Zootropolis. I hope that there will be a second movie in which Nick and Judy investigate another mysterious crime. There team work is just so adorable. I enjoyed this movie, but it will probably not be concluded in my top 3 Disney movies. Nonetheless I’m going to give it an overal rating of 4 out of 5 stars.

stars rating 4

Have you already seen Zootropolis (or Zootopia)? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments. I want to end this post with one more question? What is your favourite Disney movie and why? I’m curious to see what everyone will answer.

Bye~

Geef een reactie

