books·Hauls

A Little Book Haul

Although I wasn’t planning on buying many books, I somehow managed to end up with four new ones. Now I only need time to actually read them. Maybe I will start reading a few pages each evening before going to sleep. Anyway, I thought it would be fun to share with you my latest bookish buys. Maybe, this will give you some ideas about what you can read in september. If you’ve already read some of these books than please let me know in the comments if you liked them or not. I would love to know your opinions.

Miss Peregrine’s home for peculiar children by Ransom Riggs
This is a book that I’ve come across many times. Both in book stores and in many YouTube videos. At first, I didn’t buy this book, becaus it looked so creepy. However, it is intuiging as well. Recently I came across this book again and I decided to get it. It is a creepy story about young Jacob who stumbles upon the ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and, as is stated on the back of the book, these peculiar children may still be alive. What made this book so creepy for me are the pictures that have been added. They are terrifying. However, I want to read the book before I go and see the movie adaptation that will be released.  Books 1Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
I love a good graphic novel and I’ve come across Nimona so many times that I feel that I should read it. All that I know about this graphic novel is what I have read on Goodreads. Nimona, a young shapeshifter, and Lord Ballister Blackheart, a villain with a vendetta, work together to prove that Sir  Ambrosius Goldeloin and the institution of Law Enforcement and heroics aren’t the heroes of this stories. On the Goodreads site there is also a small comment regarding Nimona’s wild side and mysterious past and powers. I cannot wait to figure out the plot of this story. Books 2Dreamhouse by Marzia Bisognin
I regularly watch Marzia Bisognin’s videos on her youtube channel CutiePieMarzia. She seems like a very creative and inspirational person. So when she announced that she would be releasing a book I was really excited. I bought it as soon as it came out.  From the description on the back of the book it seems to be based on your standard haunted house story, but there might be some plot twists in there. You follow Amethyst on her journey to figure out just what is going on with the beautiful house that she is staying at. I’m curious to see what kind of story Marzia has created. Books 3The annotated Brothers Grimm edited by Maria Tatar
I received this book as a graduation gift from my family. It was to celebrate that I finally received my MA degree for literary studies. I wrote my thesis about the story of Little Snow White so this gift felt very appropriate and honestly I love beautifully illustratred fairy tale books. I really want to re-read these fairy tales. Books 4The complete Alice by Lewis Carroll
Although I’ve read the stories about Alice before, I don’t really own a nice version of this book. So I fell in love when I saw this edition. I love the simplistic, beautiful, white cover with the red pages. I may have to do a re-read of Alice in Wonderland now. Also I’m really curious about the extra information provided in this book. I’ll probably check it out on a quiet afternoon. Books 5These are all the books that I bought during the summer. What do you think? Will you be reading some of these? I personally cannot wait to start reading these. Unfortunately I will be busy with work. So I may end up reading them on the train. Now I only need to decided which one I’m going to read first. The tough decisions in live :p.

Bye~

Geef een reactie

