Movies/Series

 Movie Review: Doctor Strange

I have been looking forward to seeing the Doctor Strange movie for months, mainly because this movie introduces magic to the Marvel Cinematic Universe. A little while ago I finally got to see Doctor Strange and it definitely did not dissapoint. It was an amazing movie and one the best movies I’ve seen in a while. Below you find my small review of this motion picture, which is why I’m providing you with a spoiler warning right now. If you haven’t seen the movie yet then go see it and then return to read my review. Now that we’ve got that out of the way let’s explore the story of Doctor Strange.

Pros
Honestly this movie consists mostly of good things, which is why I enjoyed the movie so much.

Characters
Most of the actors in this movie were amazing. Benedict Cumberbatch was brilliant as Dr. Stephen Strange. Throughout this movie you saw his character evolve from this egocentric surgeon to a hero who realises that there is a bigger purpose to his life. I also loved the characters Wong and Mundo. For the people who don’t know, Wong is Doctor’s Strange’s friend in the comics, while Mundo is actually one of the villains in the comics. I really liked how this movie sort of became the origin stories for all of these characters. Rachel McAdams was great as Christine Palmer, who is one of the night nurses in the comics. The night nurse provides help for heroes in need, like Claire Temple in the series Daredevil and Luke Cage. I was only a bit dissapointed that we did not get to see more of her character. Ofcourse I have to mention Tilda Swinton, who portrayed the Ancient One. I found her character very good and very convincing.
picmonkey-collage

Visuals
This movie looked stunning. The different places such as New York, the institute and  Kamar-Taj looked unique and beautiful. I especially loved the shot of the institute with all the magical items. It made me curious about all the items that were stored there. I also really liked how magic was portrayed as this force that could bent reality. The designs of all the magic symbols and different magical places looked really good. All in all this movie looked amazing.
Marvel's DOCTOR STRANGE..Doctor Stephen Strange (Benedict Cumberbatch)..Photo Credit: Film Frame ..©2016 Marvel. All Rights Reserved.
doctor-strange-movie-composer-cumberbatch doctor-strange-movie-image-600x316

Cons
Although this movie was very entertaining, there were some things that I didn’t really like.

Characters
As I mentioned before almost all the characters in this movie were great. However, there is one exception and that is Mads Mikkelsen as Kaecilius. His character seemed to lack conviction. He is supposed to be this exceptional student of magic, yet he does not properly research what Dormammu is, or more importantly what Dormammu does, before becoming his follower. This makes Kaecilius come across as an ignorant fool instead of a true villain.kaecilius

Visuals
I was not a fan of how Dormammu and his world looked. It felt to abstract for me. I get that Dormammu is from the dark dimension, but what is the dark dimension? What did we see when Dormammu was introduced? It all seemed a bit vague to me. However, just to be the honest, the colour scheme did look amazing.
xdd2020-1079

All in all I really loved this move. It had some amazing actors and visuals that brought this beautiful story to life and I cannot wait for the next movie. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who has become a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It is one of my favourite movies so far. Also don’t forget to stay for the extra scenes after the credits. They are really good.

Rating: 
stars rating 4

2 gedachten over “ Movie Review: Doctor Strange

Geef een reactie

