Movies/Series

Review: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them 

I still remember that magical feeling of seeing Hogwarts for the first time in Harry Potter and the Philosopher stone. That first moment when you get to explore the amazing wizarding world. As a result my expectations of Fantastic Beasts and where to find them were extremely high, because it had to live up to my first impression of The Harry Potter series as a child. Now you would expect that this movie could only result in a dissapointment for me, but I can tell you already it did not. If I have made you curious then do continue reading. Oh, and a small spoiler warning. Please watch the movie before reading this.


Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them follows the story of Newt Scamander. A wizard who arrives in New York with a trunk full of magical creatures. Why he is there is not immediately clear to the audience. However one think you can be pretty sure about and that is that all his magical creatures will get him in trouble.

Pros

Honestly this movie was everything I expected it to be and more. Therefore I’ll mostly be talking about all the pros.

Characters
Every character in this movie had its own quirky character, which I absolutely loved. From the crazy and adventorous Newt Scamander to the ordinary but kind Jacob to the creepy character of Grindelwald. I do hope that they all return for the next movies. However I’m getting sidetracked and I should discuss these characters in a bit more detail. So let’start with Newt Scamander and his love for magical creatures. Newt comes across as this kind person who just happens to stumble unto adventure every chance he gets. He is trying to protect magical creatures and as a result his life has become a bit complicated. Then he meets Tina who used to be an auror and is now trying to find a way to get her job back. In some ways she appears to be the opposite of Newt, because she always seems to folllow the rules. This is probably why I really liked the combination of Newt and Tina together. They are adorable. Then ofcourse there is Queenie, the mind-reading sister of Tina, who loves Jacob. I found her character to be very cute and a very positive inspiration. She really brightened up the movie with her presence. Lastly ofcourse I have to mention Credence and Graves/Grindelwald. The actor who portrayed Credence did an amazing job. Throughout the movie you cannot help but feel sorry for him. He is clearly being used and abused by not only his mother, but also by Graves. This makes it all the more crushing to realize that he is actually the one who has been attacking people in the city. Yet despite all his hardships I imagined that he would still have an happy ending. A chance to turn his life arround. So you can probably imagine how surprised I was to see how his story ended. Then ofcourse there is Graves, or Grindelwald in disguise. It was pretty clear from the get-go that he was going to be the villain. However his story hasn’t been completely reveiled yet and I’m curious to see how it continues.


The Wizarding World 
I was afraid that the story would be less magical because there would be no Hogwarts. Unfortunately I was wrong. From MACUSA (Magical Congress of the United States of America) to the little home of Tina and Queenie, to the other world inside Newst Scamander’s trunk, there was plenty of magic in this movie. Below you see only a few examples.

cmocw5fucaa8ezd

Cons 

Usually I do have some criticism about a movie, because to me they are never completely perfect. Yet, this movie came awfully close. There was nothing that I either experienced negatively or I would like to change. It was amazing the way it was. So I’m afraid there will be no section with cons this time.

 

I really love this new Wizarding World with all its lovely characters and I cannot wait to see the next movie. I’m curious about which creatures we’ll get to meet and how Grindelwald and Newt’s story will unfold. Conclusively, this  movie was terrific and therefore it can only get one rating.

Rating

stars rating

Geef een reactie

