Life Diary·Personal

Goodbye 2016

2016 is already over, which means it is time to reflect on another year that’s passed. I wish I could say that 2016 was a great year, but honestly it has been a struggle for me. I had to deal with depression as well as  the return of my panic attacks. This affected my mood at work, which had some consequences as well. All in all, this has overshadowed most of my year making it difficult for me to enjoy all the good things. However instead of focussing on all the things that went wrong this year, I want to focus on all the good things that happened this year and ofcourse reflect on my previous new years resolutions. So get a cup of tea, relax and take a stroll with me through 2016.

SnowflakesBorder

Best Moments: 

There were a lot of great moments this year that have given me good memories. Here are some of the highlights.

Eflia 2016
Elfia was amazing this year. My boyfriend and I ran into a lot of friends while we were there, which made Elfia so much fun. I got to eat nice food and drink warm meade. It was also the first time that I got to hold an owl. This was an amazing experience, because owls are one of my favourite animals. All in all this was the most fun I’ve had at Elfia so far. Let’s hope that this year will be just as fun.
IMG-20160425-WA0002_mh1461742226331

Graduation
Finally, I have graduaded university. I now have a BA in English Language and Culture and an MA in Literary Studies: English Language and Culture. Although at the time I was just glad that I finally made it, I do have to admit now that I’m a little bit proud. I’m not very good at studying so I had to work really hard. I also really enjoyed most of my courses in English department and part of me is a little sad that it’s over. I wish I could learn more.

Vacation to Copenhagen
This vacation was a gift from my family for my graduation. I had a great time in Copenhagen. I got to see some beautiful musea, castles and it was the first time that I visited a build-a-bear shop. I had such a great time. It was amazing.

20160825_201008

20160822_132654

Full-time contract
Right after graduation I received my first full-time contract for work. I’ve never worked full time before so this is very new to me. However, I’m very happy with this because now my work and graduation overlapped and I didn’t have to spend weeks looking for a job.

SnowflakesBorder

So how did I do on my newyears resolutions of 2016? 

Take more free time
Only in the last couple of months have I finally been able to relax a bit more. I have started to draw again, read and play video games. So the beginning is there, however I do not feel that I have achieved this goal completely yet. I still have some room to grow in planning my work and free time effectively. So this is something that I will continue to work on in 2017.

20161029_133514

Play more video games
Obviously, this resolution is connected to the previous resolution. So the answer is kind of the same. It has only been in the last couple of months that I finally have been able to start playing video games again. Currently I’m playing Overwatch (Because I need the Mei Christmas skin), Pokemon Moon, Slim Rancher (so adorable!) and I’ve just bought Final Fantasy XV. So I think that’s a good start.

20161204_125422

Graduate from university
As I mentioned before I finally graduated from university, so I definitely achieved this goal. It wasn’t easy, but it was completely worth it.

Work more on my blog
Although there is a lot of room for growth and improvement I’d like to think that I achieved this goal as well. I’ve written a lot more and I’ve definitely tried to improve the quality of my blog. All in all I say ‘Goal achieved’. However I’m not going to stop here.

Re-design my Youtube Channel
Well to be fair I did not achieve this goal. I cannot record any videos in my two-room appartment, because of all the parrots. As a result I decided to leave my YouTube channel as it is for now. Once I have more room I might start creating videos again. For now I’ll stick to blogging.

Read more
I failed this goal unfortunately. I have read far too little books this year. Somedag I will get out of this reading dip, hopefully.

20161002_132816

Do more yoga
Well, I’m not doing any yoga so I kinda failed this goal. However, I do want to say that I’ve started working out again. So although I’m not doing the sport that I set out to do, I’m still exercising. Therefore I will count this as a small victory. 

Restore Natural hair 
I’d like to think that I half-passed this goal, if that makes sense. Although I still dye my hair, I have started using heat tools less and less and currently I have started the curly-girl method again. So I’m on the right track. Let’s see if I can keep this up.

SnowflakesBorder

This has been a short summary of my experiences in 2o16. If you’re curious to see what my plans are for 2017 (an my newyear’s resolutions) then stay on the look out for my post Hello 2017where I will duscuss the new year. I will also take a look at my favourite games, books, etc in Favourites of 2016. Now that I look back on 2016 it actually had some great   moments and I cannot wait for all the new memories that I will create in 2017. How was your year? Let me know in the comments and I’ll talk to you soon.

Bye~

Een gedachte over “Goodbye 2016

  1. Lieve mai!

    Toch ook veel mooie herinneringen aan 2016 zie ik! Ik denk dat 2017 een mooi jaar voor je wordt. Ga door met waar je van geniet en leer van de moeilijkere momenten! Misschien een goed voornemen voor ons beiden: wat meer tijd samen doorbrengen! Gelukkig nieuwjaar!

    Liefs San

    Like

Geef een reactie

